Carrots Are Better with Cake

Carrots. Since I was young I was told that they could help with my eyesight. So naturally I ate a carrot every chance I get. Well, now here I am, typing away adjusting my glasses every few seconds because the carrots failed me. However, even though they didn’t heal my horrible eyes, I still love them in different foods.

Today, I made carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. 

The Cake 

  • Super duper easy to make. Mix all the ingredients and you get the batter.
  • I was actually surprised that the batter was very similar to that of the coffee crumble cake thing I previously made.
    • It was sticky and looked like a very small amount of dough as I spread it across my 9×13 pan.
  • Also like the other cake, it wasn’t that sweet, as it only had one cup of sugar.
  • The recipe said that in the 9×13 pan it would take 30-35 minutes but at like 25 my cake was done. Guess it really does just depend on the oven.

The Frosting

  • Very easy except I didn’t really know what consistency it was supposed to be. I think mine was a little to “runny” but the flavor was pretty good.
  • I also didn’t use all the powdered sugar it said to use.
    • I used 2 cups instead of 3

This cake complimented very nicely with the frosting since the cake wasn’t super sweet. I would most likely make this again once I know the “perfect consistency” of cream cheese frosting.

2 thoughts on “Carrots Are Better with Cake

Leave a comment