J’aime la nourriture!

Aujourd’hui, je fais

Pardon! Today I am feeling in a French kind of mood. I listened to some French music, which made me think of my French classes I had all four years of high school. Then I remembered how my French teacher, on the day before winter break started, would bring homemade crepes to the class. Everyone would bring something to put into the crepes like Nutella, strawberries, whipped cream, bananas, etc.

I’ve made crepes before but they didn’t come out too great because they had these weird lumps of flour. So today I figured, why not try again? What’s the harm? So I did.

Let me just say, OH MY GOSH! So good! They were very simple to make thanks to Joy of Cooking. I took three of their recipes and used them all in one dish.

The Sweet Crepes (I halved the recipe but still got 12 crepes)

  • In order to avoid the lumps I previously had, I sifted the flour first. The crepes recipe provided didn’t have any particular way to add the ingredients so I just added everything in one bowl and whisked it. It still had lumps though, but it wasn’t lumps of flour, I honestly don’t know what it was.
    • To make it smooth, the final step I did was add the batter into my measuring cup, but put it through a fine mesh strainer first. It all worked very well I might add.
    • I’ve seen people use a blender on food network, maybe that’ll help?
  • There was no specification of what type of milk to use so I just used the regular fat free milk we had in the fridge. I think it made it a little too watery, but it still tasted fine.
  • The cooking process is also not as hard as it may seem! I used my fingers to flip the crepe so I wouldn’t rip it with a fork or spatula.
    • To make it easier on me, I cooked the crepe on a back burner and then moved the pan off the heat and to the burner(which was off) in front of it to flip it so my hands wouldn’t burn, then moved it back to the back. (ha)
  • I also placed a piece of wax paper in between each crepe to prevent them from sticking together!

Caramelized Apples (I didn’t make the sauce that was part of the recipe)

  • These were so easy to make and the only thing I did different from the recipe is use a different apple. It called for Golden Delicious apples and I used Gala. Tasted great!

Whipped Cream

  • This was probably the easiest thing I’ve made. I add sugar and vanilla and it was perfect.

This was definitely something that anyone can make because the ingredients are so accessible. Well, now I feel like watching Midnight in Paris. I’ll probably watch while I eat some crepes.

 

Leave a comment